HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 计量过去无法测量的水蒸汽能量的传感系统

计量过去无法测量的水蒸汽能量的传感系统

干度传感系统

在装置及工厂中,蒸汽作为热能被广泛使用。影响其能源效率的是蒸汽的品质。蒸汽的品质通过“干度”指标来表示。过去人们一直认为准确简便地测量干度是极其困难的事情。阿自倍尔着眼于蒸汽和水吸收不同波长的光这一特性,开发出用近红外光照射管道中流动的蒸汽,通过观测到的吸光特性来计算干度的方法。

背景・需求

过去没有表示蒸汽品质的准确简便的测量方法

锅炉生产出来的高温、高压蒸汽在工业上用于暖气/热水供应、发电、加热/杀菌等各种用途。H2O介质容易获取,而且由于使用的是从蒸汽到液体转化时产生的“潜热”,所以还具有能源效率高的特点。

在蒸汽系统中,通过热交换设备等将气相的饱和蒸汽转化为液相的饱和液,并有效地获取热能。在到达热交换设备前,如果由于管道等的损失,饱和蒸汽的一部分还原为饱和液的话,会损失掉那部分的潜热。这时只能利用显热,所以能效大幅下降。因此,如何将锅炉生产出来的饱和蒸汽,在稳定的状态下输送到设备成了其中的一个难题。

饱和蒸汽所占比例越大越理想,是“高品质的蒸汽”。品质的高低程度用“干度”(dryness 或 quality)指标表示,其定义如下。

干度的范围在0到1之间。提供蒸汽时,干度为1(管道内全部为饱和蒸汽)是最理想的。“干度”是指H2O不是液态,表示处于蒸汽状态的程度。也就是说,它与湿度*不同,湿度一般用来指空气的干燥程度。

干度是测量蒸汽品质的重要指标。除系统的管理以外,它还可以应用于使用蒸汽的设备及工艺的稳定化、节能的推进等。但是过去,业内普遍认为直接、实时进行干度测量是极其困难的。“节流热量计”是唯一用作干度测量的装置,但由于安装时需要对管道进行分支,因此会影响主管道中的蒸汽流量。其他被指出的问题还有很多,包括无法实时测量、无法测量接近大气压的蒸汽,以及测量的稳定性差等。

※湿度是指相对于空气中可能含有的最大水蒸汽含量而言,实际含有的水蒸汽的比例。

利用蒸汽的能源系统的用途和干度的有用性

湿り蒸気の市場と乾き度

开发的要点

着眼于蒸汽与水不同的吸光特性。应用了吸光分析法的测量方法

阿自倍尔株式会社着眼于饱和蒸汽和饱和液体两种状态下水的吸光性质不同,重新开发出了蒸汽干度传感系统。

阿自倍尔株式会社着眼于饱和蒸汽和饱和液体两种状态下水的吸光性质不同,重新开发出了蒸汽干度传感系统。

很早以前人们就知道H2O在蒸汽状态和液体状态下,尤其是在近红外线照射下,吸收光谱是不同的。用特定的光照射饱和蒸汽和饱和液,只要根据透射光的光谱求出吸光度,就能够知道它们各自所含有的H2O分子的浓度。浓度换算后,能得到饱和蒸汽或饱和液体的质量,最后算出干度。

传感系统的原理和推导算法

过去对于饱和蒸汽及饱和液在近红外线区域的吸收光谱只知道概况,所以首先对吸收光谱的详细内容进行了明确。此外,对管道内蒸汽的活动也知道的不够详尽,所以制作实验设备,对水平管道和垂直管道中的流动状况进行了明确。

根据它们各自的吸光特性,选出几乎不被饱和蒸汽和饱和液吸收的波长(参考光),以及容易被饱和液吸收的波长(探测光),开发出了使用这两种光的传感系统的原理和推导算法。

蒸汽管道设备和传感系统的有效

使用能够任意调整干度/流量/压力的蒸汽管道设备,验证了该传感系统的有效性。实验结果显示,压力为0.5MPa和0.75MPa时,与不同流量下的干度指标之间有明显的关联,该方式的有效性得到了证实。

用于评估的蒸汽管道设备

評価用の蒸気配管設備

成果与今后的展望

面向实际应用,加速现场测试

阿自倍尔使用吸收光谱,开发出了能够实时准确测量蒸汽干度的蒸汽干度传感系统原理。通过试制验证了其有效性。与以往需要管道分支的节流热量计不同,它可以串联安装。该方式的实时测量颠覆了一直以来的常识。目前,正在以实际应用为目标推进现场实

如果管道内蒸汽的干度能够可视化,就更容易掌握蒸汽能源系统的损耗,从而实现节能。阿自倍尔为了减少世界上蒸汽系统的能源损耗,将不断致力于打破“干度的准确实时测量是不可能的”这一业界常识。

为什么“潜热”的能源效率高?

饱和状态的蒸汽具有两种状态。分别是饱和蒸汽(气相、气体)和饱和液(液相、液体)。所有物质在相变过程中都会吸收和释放热量,蒸汽系统中使用的水也不例外。要想让H2O从液相变为气相,在1个大气压时每1kg需要2258kJ(千焦)。夏天为了凉快,通过洒水来降低周围的温度,就是利用了相变能够吸热的原理。相反,H2O从气相变为液相时,在1个大气压时每1kg蒸汽会发热2258kJ。

这种相变中要用到的能源叫做“潜热”。在蒸汽系统中,1个大气压时能够使用的热能为每1kg蒸汽2258kJ。

而液体或气体状态的温度能源称为“显热”。显热比潜热小,在1个大气压时100℃的H2O所具有的热能仅为418kJ。所以说使用潜热能够利用更多的能源。

潜热和显热

潜熱と顕熱



※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > A sensing system that now makes it possible to measure the energy of steam

A sensing system that now makes it possible to measure the energy of steam

Steam quality measurement system

Steam is widely used in industrial plants and factories to produce thermal energy. Steam quality, which is indicated by “dryness fraction,” has a great effect on energy efficiency. However, it is commonly believed that measuring steam quality accurately by a simple method is quite impossible. Azbil Corporation approached this problem by focusing on the difference between steam and water in terms of light absorption characteristics. By exposing steam flowing in pipes to near-infrared light, Azbil has developed a new technology that can calculate the dryness fraction from the observed light absorption characteristics.

Background and Needs

A simple and accurate way of measuring steam quality has never been seen before.

High temperature and high pressure steam generated in boilers has been utilized for various applications in industry, such as hot air for heating, hot water supply, electricity generation, thermal sterilization, etc. An H2O medium can easily be obtained, and among other advantages, the steam made in boilers is energy-efficient because the latent heat stored during change of phase from vapor to liquid can be used.

In a steam system, saturated vapor (gaseous phase) is condensated to saturated liquid (liquid phase) by equipment such as heat exchangers in order to efficiently extract thermal energy. If part of the saturated vapor changes into saturated liquid before it reaches the heat exchanger, for example, because of a broken pipe, the latent heat will be lost in proportion to the amount of condensation. In such cases, sensible heat is the only heat that remains to be used, drastically decreasing energy efficiency. So, one of our challenges is to ensure constant and reliable delivery of saturated vapor that has been generated in boilers to heat exchangers.

The more saturated vapor in the steam mixture, the better it is. Steam with a large amount of saturated vapor is considered to be a high quality steam. Quality, indicated by the dryness fraction, is defined as follows:

Dryness varies between 0 and 1. A dryness of 1 (100% gaseous phase in a steam pipe) is the most desirable value. Unlike relative humidity,* which is generally used to refer to the proportion of moisture in the air, dryness indicates the mass proportion of saturated vapor to total mixture.

Dryness is a very important indicator for measuring steam quality. This indicator is helpful not only for managing the system but also for maintaining equipment condition and operation process stability and improving energy conservation. In industry, however, it was believed that measuring steam quality directly in real time is extremely difficult. Only a device called a throttling calorimeter has been used to measure steam quality. However, installing one requires that the steam pipe to be branched, which affects the flow of the steam. Other disadvantages have also been pointed out. For example, it cannot measure steam quality in real time or steam that is close to the atmospheric pressure, and the measurement is not stable.

*Relative humidity refers to the proportion of the water content in the air to the maximum water content the air can contain.

Steam Energy System Applications and Benefits from the “Dryness” Indicator

Key Innovations

Focusing on the difference between steam and water light absorption characteristics, Azbil has invented a dryness measurement method using light absorption analysis.

Azbil Corporation has developed a new steam quality measurement system by focusing on the fact that water exhibits different light absorption characteristics depending on its phase, gaseous phase or liquid phase.

Generally, both gas and liquid have the characteristic of absorbing a different, particular wavelength of light. Therefore, measuring the spectrum of light passing through a gas or liquid helps to estimate the type and mass of that material. The material’s absorbance is proportional to its concentration and the length of the optical path through the material. If the optical path length is known, the concentration of the material can be calculated by checking the spectrum of light passing through it.

As to H2O, it has been known for some time that it exhibits a different absorption spectrum particularly in the near-infrared region, depending on its form, vapor or liquid. At first, the absorption spectrum was found after applying light of a certain wavelength to a saturated vapor or saturated liquid. Then, the concentration of H2O molecules can be calculated to find the mass of saturated vapor. Finally, the dryness can be calculated.

Principles and algorithm for the steam quality measurement system

What we first did was to understand in detail something which previously has not been fully understood, the absorbance spectrum of both saturated vapor and saturated liquid in the near-infrared region. Behavior of steam in a pipe was also not fully understood, so we created a testing facility to study steam flow characteristics in both vertical and horizontal pipes.

Then, based on the light absorption characteristics, Azbil chose a wavelength that is hardly absorbed by saturated vapor or saturated liquid (a reference wavelength) and a wavelength that is easily absorbed by saturated liquid. Using these two types of wavelength, the principles and algorithm for the measurement system were developed.

Verification of the measurement system at a steam pipe facility

A steam pipe facility where the dryness, mass flow rate, and pressure of steam can be controlled was used to verify the compatibility of the measurement system. Through experiments, it was proven that there is a correlation between mass flow rate ratio and dryness within the pressure ranging from 0.5 MPa to 0.7 MPa and the dryness ranging from 0.88 to 1.0. Using this ratio, the system can be verified.

Steam Pipe Facility for Testing

Results and Future Outlook

Accelerated field testing in preparation for world-first practical implementation

Using the absorbance spectrum, Azbil has developed the principles for a steam quality measurement system that can accurately measure steam quality in real-time. We have verified the compatibility of the system by using a prototype facility. Unlike a conventional throttling calorimeter, which requires pipe branching for installation, the new system can be installed in-line. Azbil believes that the system’s real-time measurement method can change the common understanding in the industry. In order to put the system into practical use, Azbil is advancing field-testing for the system. It expects to be the pioneer that introduces a product with this function into the market for the first time in the world.

If the dryness of the steam can be measured, systems that are losing steam energy can easily be identified, leading to energy conservation. In order to reduce the energy loss from steam systems around the world, Azbil is taking on a challenge the industry believes to be impossible, that of measuring dryness accurately in real time.


Why is latent heat energy-efficient?

Wet steam can be in two different states: saturated vapor (gaseous phase) and saturated liquid (liquid phase). All substances absorb or emit heat during phase transition, including the H2O used in the system. For example, 1 kg of H2O at 1 atmospheric pressure (atm) needs 2258 kJ of heat to evaporate. People spray water in gardens and streets in summer to cool down, and the temperature around them actually drops. This is because the heat is absorbed when water changes its phase. In the reverse process, vapor phase to liquid phase, 2258 kJ of heat is produced per kilogram of vapor at 1 atm.

The energy that is necessary for such a phase transition is called “latent heat.” Steam systems use a latent heat of 2258 kJ per kilogram of vapor at 1 atm.

On the other hand, the heat that is stored when a substance is in the gas or liquid form is called “sensible heat”. The amount of sensible heat required is smaller than the latent heat. Saturated liquid water at 100 °C contains as little as 418 kJ at 1 atm. Obviously, latent heat is preferred to sensible heat because there is more energy that can be used.

Latent Heat and Sensible Heat

Latent Heat and Sensible Heat

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.