HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 采用非接触式驱动解决了装卸问题的装料器/卸料器

采用非接触式驱动解决了装卸问题的装料器/卸料器

用于冷冻干燥机的装料器/卸料器(搬运装置)

在抗生素和抗体医药品等的生产过程中,有时会进行冷冻干燥处理。阿自倍尔与azbil集团面向制药工厂的生产装置制造商Azbil Telstar公司(西班牙)共同开发出了与装料器/卸料器(自动搬运装置)相关的新技术,用于在该处理过程中进行所需小瓶(小玻璃瓶)的装卸。由于冷冻干燥装置在取出产品的过程中,存在工人吸入药品的风险,以及工人携带的灰尘、细菌混入产品中的风险,所以装料器/卸料器的自动化需求非常高。所开发的技术不仅能够满足该需求,还通过非接触式传递驱动力的"磁螺丝"的使用节省了空间,提高了清洁性、去污性和灭菌性。

背景・需求

在抗生素及抗体医药品的保存中活用的冷冻干燥法

在制药领域中,有时采用通过冷冻干燥(冻干)使有效期短的液体抗生素及抗体医药品(生物医药品)变为粉末状,从而保持长期稳定性和药效的生产方法来进行药品的生产。这样生产出来的粉末在医疗机构被溶解于注射用蒸馏水中,作为注射液来使用。

图1 通过冷冻干燥使液体变为粉末

图1 通过冷冻干燥使液体变为粉末

根据冷冻干燥的原理,将液体药品变为粉末的装置就是“冷冻干燥机”(冻干机)。在研究开发中使用小型设备,而在批量生产线中引进的是能够一次处理几千支到几十万支小瓶(直径16-40mm左右的小玻璃瓶)的大型设备。

在azbil集团,Azbil Telstar公司(总公司位于西班牙的加泰罗尼亚)以欧美的制药公司为 提供量产型的冷冻干燥机"Lyonomic"(图2)。

图2 Azbil Telstar面向制药业提供的冷冻干燥机“Lyonomic”

图2 Azbil Telstar面向制药业提供的冷冻干燥机“Lyonomic”

用于制药的大型冷冻干燥机所存在的装卸课题

冷冻干燥机有时需要向一次处理几十万支小瓶的干燥箱中装料(装载),以及从处理后的干燥箱卸料(卸载)。这些工作无论是为了避免杂菌带来的污染风险,还是与带有副作用的抗生素及抗体医药品接触的风险,都需要排除人工干预的完全的自动化。

为了满足这种需求,Azbil Telstar提供与冷冻干燥机(Lyonomic)组合使用的"LUS(Loading and Unloading Systems)"。

开发的要点

开发使用磁螺丝的非接触式驱动结构

阿自倍尔与Azbil Telstar共同致力于满足制药业新需求的LUS的改良,此次开发出了采用新结构的技术。

大致的结构如图3所示。由推进器将传送带从侧面传送过来的小瓶成列推进,当排满搁板的一层时,启动滑块,将小瓶装入里面的绿色搁板。

图3 新开发的装料器/卸料器的概要结构

图3 新开发的装料器/卸料器的概要结构

使用以往的推进器将小瓶装到里面的推进方式,需要很长的行程,所以需要相应的安装面积。使用新的方式,每次推进器只需推进一列,大幅节省了空间。

开发的最大要点是图中标记为驱动单元的驱动结构。是为了满足下列冷冻干燥箱内部的苛刻条件而开发的。

(a) 即便是暴露在-30℃到-50℃左右的冷却工艺或通过高温蒸汽进行的杀菌工艺中,其耐久性也没有问题(为了满足这一点,电子电路等基本上不能置于箱内)
b) 为了最小化装入箱内的药品的污染风险,不产生碎片(例如不同金属接触后生成的微小刮屑等),而且可以不使用可能会蒸发的润滑剂等
(c) 同样为了最小化污染风险,没有碎屑等可残留的凹陷等,便于清洗和灭菌

为了满足上述要求,着眼于非接触式传递驱动力的“磁螺丝”,并开发出了在非接触的情况下运动的结构,其原理是在相当于螺母的位置嵌入永磁铁,使其跟着螺杆上的螺纹走(图4)。图3中,通过写做驱动单元的磁螺丝的驱动力,使左右的滑块前后运动,并通过连接二者的横杆(蓝色)进行小瓶的装(推进)卸(拉出)。

图4 开发出当螺杆旋转时,嵌入了永磁铁的滑块能够跟随由软磁体制成的螺纹一起前后运动的磁螺丝(实际上螺杆被密封在不锈钢管内,螺纹不外露)

图4 开发出当螺杆旋转时,嵌入了永磁铁的滑块能够跟随由软磁体制成的螺纹一起前后运动的磁螺丝(实际上螺杆被密封在不锈钢管内,螺纹不外露)

图4中螺纹外露,实际上是将整个螺杆嵌入不锈钢管内,完全排除了螺纹的凹凸,从而避免污垢附着带来的繁琐的清理工作。不锈钢管使用不影响磁性的材质,确保驱动的顺利进行。

置于干燥箱外面的发动机使螺杆旋转运动,为了使干燥箱能够密封,拆掉机械链杆,结合将螺杆分割开的结构进行开发(采用在桥和搁板的边界等两处拆掉链杆,箱门闭合的结构)。(图5)



图5 装置运转时(上)和灭菌作业时(下)。滑块置于箱内时也能通过箱门来密封,有利于提高灭菌作业的效率和质量

成果和今后的展望

提高空间性、清洁性、去污性和灭菌性

新型装料器/卸料器的特点是对以下4点进行了改善。

  1. 空间性
    以往的推进方式为了将小瓶推到干燥箱的里面,需要约2米长的气缸,前面需要预留空间来确保气缸的往复运动。另一方面,新系统推进器的往复距离充其量不过缩短约10-20cm,而且也没有大的结构部分,为洁净室节省了空间(图6)。
  2. 图6 由于推进器的行程短,大幅节省了装料器/卸料器的空间

    图6 由于推进器的行程短,大幅节省了装料器/卸料器的空间

  3. 清洁性
    通过采用非接触式传递动力的磁螺丝,机械滑动部位和磨损部位变得极其微小,大大抑制了碎片等的产生。
  4. 去污性

  5. 磁螺丝及滑块部分采用完全密封的方式,还能够用于冷冻干燥工艺结束后进行的箱内清洗工艺,以及使用蒸汽进行的箱内灭菌工艺。此外,由于螺杆是用不锈钢管包裹,所以没有凹凸,容易清洗。
  6. 灭菌性
    由于磁螺丝和滑块全部留在箱内,所以可以在定期实施的使用蒸汽进行的箱内灭菌工艺中,原封不动地进行灭菌处理(图5)。以往的方式是将搬运横杆安装在外部,所以不适用于箱内灭菌工艺,需要人工进行灭菌处理。

此次开发的装料器/卸料器的样机,仅在西班牙巴塞罗那举办的医药品生产装置展览会中向到访的顾客进行了公开。结果,其空间性、清洁性、去污性和灭菌性的各种改进受到了高度评价。现在,正在以早期的产品化为目标,与Azbil Telstar的开发团队共同推进耐久性试验及细节的完善。




※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > Loader-unloader uses a non-contact drive mechanism to eliminate problems associated with loading and unloading

Loader-unloader uses a non-contact drive mechanism to eliminate problems associated with loading and unloading

Loader-unloader for freeze dryers

In some cases, antibiotics, antibody drugs, and other pharmaceutical products are freeze-dried as part of their manufacturing process. Azbil and Azbil Telstar, an azbil Group company based in Spain that makes manufacturing equipment for pharmaceutical factories, have together developed a new technology for systems designed to load and unload vials for the freeze-drying process. Because there is a risk that workers might inhale chemicals, or that dust or bacteria from workers might contaminate products, there is a rapidly increasing need to automate freeze dryer loading and unloading. Not only does the newly developed technology meet this need, but it also has a smaller footprint, is cleaner, and is easier to wash and sterilize than existing systems, thanks to a mechanism based on a magnetic screw, which transmits a driving force without contact.

Background and Needs

Freeze-drying for the preservation of antibiotics, antibody drugs, and other pharmaceutical products

In the pharmaceutical industry, freeze-drying is used to convert liquid antibiotics and antibody drugs (biopharmaceuticals) to a powder, giving them greater stability and helping to maintain their efficacy. At medical institutions, pharmaceuticals thus powdered are dissolved in distilled water and used in injections.

Figure 1. Freeze drying is used to turn liquid into powder.

Figure 1. Freeze drying is used to turn liquid into powder.

A freeze dryer is a type of equipment that powders liquid drugs based on freeze-drying principles. For research and development, small freeze dryers are used, but mass-production lines have large freeze dryers that can handle a few thousand or even hundreds of thousands of vials (approximately 16 to 40 mm in diameter) at once.

Azbil Telstar (an azbil Group company headquartered in Catalonia, Spain) provides the Lyonomic (Fig. 2), a freeze dryer for mass production, with sales mainly to pharmaceutical companies in Europe and North America.

Figure 2. The Lyonomic, an Azbil Telstar freeze dryer for the pharmaceutical industry

Figure 2. The Lyonomic, an Azbil Telstar freeze dryer for the pharmaceutical industry

Large freeze dryers for pharmaceuticals have problems with loading and unloading.

Vials (sometimes hundreds of thousands at once) must be loaded into the drying chamber of the freeze dryer and unloaded after treatment. To avoid the risk of contamination by various bacteria and other substances as well as the risk of contact with antibiotics and antibody drugs that may have side effects, these processes should be fully automated so that no manual operation is necessary.

To meet these needs, Azbil Telstar provides a loading and unloading system (LUS) for use in combination with the Lyonomic freeze dryer.

Key Innovations

Development of a non-contact drive mechanism based on magnetic screws

In collaboration with Azbil Telstar, Azbil has developed the technology used in the new mechanism in order to improve the LUS and better meet the needs of the pharmaceutical industry.

Figure 3 gives a rough depiction of the mechanism’s structure. Vials are supplied in a row by the conveyor from the side, and a pusher pushes each row-full of vials forward. Once the required number of vials is reached, the slider unit moves the vials onto the green shelf located in the back.

Figure 3. Structural diagram of the newly developed loader-unloader

Figure 3. Structural diagram of the newly developed loader-unloader

The previous push-push system used a pusher to push vials all the way, which required a long stroke and necessarily a large footprint. With the new mechanism, the pusher pushes only one row of vials at a time, significantly reducing the footprint.

The most important point in the development of the new system is the drive mechanism, shown in the figure as the drive unit. This mechanism was developed to satisfy the following severe requirements for the inside of the freeze-drying chamber.

(a) Durability even after a -30 to -50 °C pharmaceutical freezing process and sterilization by high-temperature steam (this requirement basically rules out electronic circuits inside the chamber).
(b) To minimize the risk of contaminating pharmaceuticals inside the chamber, no debris (e.g., microscopic shavings generated when metals come into contact with each other) may be produced, and substances that may vaporize (for example, lubricants) cannot be used.
(c) To minimize the risk of contamination, surfaces must be free of concavities where gas could accumulate and must be smooth to allow effective cleaning and sterilization.

To satisfy these requirements, we focused our attention on magnetic screws, which are capable of transmitting driving forces without contact, and we developed a mechanism that enables permanent magnets embedded into the part equivalent to the nut to move along a threaded shaft without contacting the thread (Fig. 4). The magnetic screw indicated as the drive unit in Figure 3 moves the right and left sliders back and forth, and the blue bars connecting the sliders load (push) and unload (pull) the vials.

Figure 4. A magnetic screw was developed that causes sliders (which contain permanent magnets) to follow (i.e., to move back and forth with) the screw thread (made of a soft magnetic material) when the threaded shaft is turned. The thread shaft is actually enclosed inside a stainless steel pipe so that the screw thread is not exposed.

Figure 4. A magnetic screw was developed that causes sliders (which contain permanent magnets) to follow (i.e., to move back and forth with) the screw thread (made of a soft magnetic material) when the threaded shaft is turned. The thread shaft is actually enclosed inside a stainless steel pipe so that the screw thread is not exposed.

Figure 4 shows the screw thread as exposed, but in fact the entire threaded shaft is housed inside a stainless steel pipe, since the uneven surface of the screw would be very difficult to clean. The stainless steel used is a type that does not affect magnetism, so it does not interfere with the drive mechanism.

The threaded shaft is turned by a motor located outside the drying chamber. In order for the chamber to be airtight, we also developed a system by which the threaded shaft can be separated into two parts by removing mechanical links (Fig. 5). Links between the bridge and shelf are removed to close the chamber door.


Figure 5. System in operation
Figure 5. being sterilized

Figure 5. System in operation (above) and being sterilized (below). Sliders are left inside the chamber, which is airtight when the door is closed. This improves sterilization efficiency, leading to higher quality.

Results and Future Prospects

Smaller footprint, cleanliness, and more effective washing and sterilizing

The new loader-unloader is remarkable for achieving the following four improvements.

  1. Smaller footprint
    The conventional push-push system requires a cylinder approximately 2 m long, because it pushes vials all the way into the drying chamber. It therefore requires considerable space in front of it to accommodate the cylinder’s back-and-forth movement. By contrast, the pusher stroke of the new system is short (10–20 cm), which saves space in cleanrooms (Fig. 6).
Figure 6.Thanks to the shorter stroke of the pusher, the loader-unloader has a significantly smaller footprint.

Figure 6. Thanks to the shorter stroke of the pusher, the loader-unloader has a significantly smaller footprint.

  1. Greater cleanliness
    The system uses a magnetic screw that transmits the driving force without contact. This mechanism minimizes mechanical sliding and wear, resulting in significantly reduced debris generation.
  2. Easier to wash
    The magnetic screw and sliders are completely enclosed, enabling the system to undergo the cleaning and steam-based sterilization processes inside the chamber following the freeze-drying process. Moreover, since the threaded shaft is inside a stainless steel pipe, there are no projections or depressions, so it is easy to wash.
  3. Easier to sterilize
    The magnetic screw and sliders are all designed to stay inside the chamber and can therefore be sterilized in the periodic steam-based sterilization process used for the chamber (Fig. 5). In conventional systems, the carrier bar is located outside the chamber, and therefore it must be sterilized manually.

The prototype loader-unloader received an advance viewing by visitors to a pharmaceutical manufacturing equipment exhibition held in Barcelona, Spain. On that occasion it was highly rated for its small footprint, cleanliness, and ease of washing and sterilizing. With the goal of early commercialization, we are currently working with the development team at Azbil Telstar to conduct endurance tests and lock down the details.

azbil Technical Review

A Vial Loading System with Non-Contact Drive Mechanism Using Magnetic Technology

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.