HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 即使在高温高腐蚀性的苛刻环境下也能够精准测量压力的隔膜真空计

即使在高温高腐蚀性的苛刻环境下也能够精准测量压力的隔膜真空计

面向原子层沉积法的蓝宝石隔膜真空计

蓝宝石隔膜真空计

装配在电脑和智能手机等设备中的高性能半导体。该制造工艺中应用的薄膜制作方法多种多样,不过为了实现精加工,最近采用“原子层沉积法(ALD法)”的情况有所增加。然而,ALD法的成膜原理存在半导体生产装置内也会沉积原材料薄膜的问题。如果测量生产装置内的真空度的真空计内部也沉积了多余薄膜的话,会对测量值产生影响。阿自倍尔在2006年产品化的自主开发的“蓝宝石隔膜真空计”中,加入了重新改良的三项技术,开发出了面向原子层沉积法的真空计。

背景・需求

半导体生产不可或缺的真空计 如何对应原子层沉积法成为课题

半导体生产需要具备高耐腐蚀性及耐热性的真空计。阿自倍尔株式会社于2006年独自将满足此种需求的“蓝宝石隔膜真空计”进行了产品化。该方法将随着真空度发生细微变形的超薄人造蓝宝石用于隔膜,测量随着真空度变化的静电容量。具有在苛刻的条件下也具有高精度和高可靠性的特点。

近年来,在半导体生产过程中逐渐开始采用原子层沉积(Atomic Layer Deposition:ALD)法。该方法能够使其他元素及化合物超薄化,并很好地环绕沉积在半导体晶圆上。正在通过这项技术来实现集成电路的高速化和大容量存储。

ALD法在具有许多优点的同时,也存在原材料薄膜还会环绕沉积在半导体生产装置内部的成膜室(腔室)中的问题。成膜过程中必须正确控制并保持腔室内部的真空度。此时,若沉积了对测量内部真空度的真空计来说多余的薄膜的话,会出现真空计的测量值产生误差的问题。

蓝宝石隔膜真空计

开发的要点

设法将三项技术相结合 解决原子层沉积法的问题

于是,阿自倍尔在2006年发售的“蓝宝石隔膜真空计”的基础上,开发出了符合ALD法的“面向原子层沉积法的蓝宝石真空计”。为了降低因原材料薄膜沉积在真空计内所产生的真空计测量值的误差,通过新隔膜结构/沉积位置的控制/沉积本身的抑制这三项技术的开发,成功地大幅降低了因沉积产生的测量误差。

  1. 新隔膜结构
    新隔膜的形状

    理论上,ALD法不能完全排除薄膜在真空计内的沉积。“蓝宝石隔膜真空计”也会因为原材料沉积在隔膜上,导致热膨胀系数不同,这使隔膜时常处于弯曲状态,从而偏离测量的基准值(以下称为零点)。

    针对这一问题,为了使隔膜的弯曲度在薄膜沉积状态下也不发生变化,开发出了隔膜中央部分稍薄的独特形状。该想法是希望通过薄厚两部分弯曲度的相互抵消来减少误差。通过变形的模拟和实验,成功地找到了隔膜的最佳形状。

  2. 控制沉积位置
    成膜に

    由于使用材料的不同,有时隔膜上的薄膜无法均匀沉积,即使想办法改变隔膜的形状,弯曲度也会不均匀,所以仍然是无法抑制零点的偏离。如果无法确保薄膜能够均匀地沉积,那么转换思维,通过使其在特定位置进行沉积,设计出了即使隔膜弯曲也可作为传感器的输出来减小误差的方法。

    传感器上有测量压力的感压电极和用于修正温度等影响的参考电极。让薄膜沉积在隔膜半径中央的位置,该位置横跨感压电极和参考电极。具体来说,就是在覆盖隔膜的蓝宝石圆板的适当位置开一个微小的孔,导出引起沉积的气体。

  3. 大幅抑制沉积本身
    存水弯结构

    即使进行了上述两项对策,仍旧没能改变隔膜上沉积多余薄膜的现状。长此以往,务必会导致测量灵敏度和测量精度的下降。因此,为了尽量抑制沉积本身,开发出了去除薄膜原材料的可以称之为微小过滤器的存水弯(挡板)。该存水弯结构在圆周上设计了约4000个细小的通道,所以应答性也得到了确保。存水弯结构的采用使隔膜上的沉积量在计算上下降到了0.03%,并确保了长期的稳定性。

成果和今后的展望

過面向原子层沉积法的蓝宝石隔膜真空计的零点稳定性

就这样,“蓝宝石隔膜真空计”演变成为对应ALD法的“面向原子层沉积法的蓝宝石隔膜真空计”。这款真空计即使薄膜沉积,零点也几乎不发生偏离,并具备可以保持长期稳定性等众多优点。从以往的顾客那里,我们得到了“阿自倍尔真空计在日本国内开发,能够放心使用”的高度评价。我们持续不断地为这些顾客解决现场的课题,并通过最新的制造工艺实现了课题的解决。




※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > High-temperature corrosion-resistant capacitance diaphragm gauge for accurate pressure measurement in severe environments

High-temperature corrosion-resistant capacitance diaphragm gauge for accurate pressure measurement in severe environments

Sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge for atomic layer deposition

Sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge for atomic layer deposition

High-performance semiconductors are integrated into PCs and smartphones, and while various thin film manufacturing methods are in use, atomic layer deposition (ALD) has recently become increasingly popular for nanoscale processing. However, ALD faces a problem stemming from the fact that, due to the nature of the process, a film of the base material is formed inside the semiconductor manufacturing equipment itself. The problem that arises is that unnecessary film can be deposited inside the vacuum gauge that is measuring the level of vacuum in the manufacturing equipment. If this occurs, it causes error in the gauge’s measurement. As a solution, Azbil has developed a new type of vacuum gauge for ALD that incorporates three technological innovations into Azbil’s own Sapphire Capacitance Diaphragm Gauge, which became commercially available in 2006.

Background and Needs

For problems arising in the atomic layer deposition process, an indispensable vacuum gauge for semiconductor manufacturing

Semiconductor manufacturing requires a vacuum gauge with high resistance to corrosive gases and heat influence from chambers, and Azbil responded to these needs in 2006 with the appearance of its SPG Series sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauges. SPG gauges use a very thin artificially grown sapphire diaphragm that deforms slightly according to the level of vacuum. By measuring the capacitance change of the diaphragm, which also changes in proportion to the vacuum, these gauges achieve a high degree of accuracy and reliability even under severe process conditions.

Recent years have seen the increasing use of a semiconductor manufacturing process called atomic layer deposition (ALD), in which a semiconductor wafer is overlaid with an exceedingly thin yet comprehensively covering layer of a different material. This technology has made it possible to increase the speed and the size of integrated circuits, such as CPUs and memory devices.

ALD has many advantages, but the raw material of the film is deposited in the chamber inside the semiconductor manufacturing equipment, which includes vacuum gauges, and while the film forms, the level of vacuum inside the chamber must be accurately controlled and maintained. If film is deposited on the vacuum gauge that is measuring the internal level of vacuum, it will cause an error in the measurement results.

Key Innovations

By combining three technological innovations, this problem with ALD was resolved

Azbil has developed a sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge for atomic layer deposition based on its sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge, which became available in 2006. With the development of three technologies — a new diaphragm structure, a method of controlling the area of deposition, and suppression of deposition — Azbil has succeeded in dramatically reducing measurement error due to deposition.

  1. New Diaphragm Structure

    In ALD, reducing the deposition of film in the vacuum gauge to zero is, in principle, not feasible. Even with a sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge, if base material is deposited on the diaphragm, the diaphragm’s thermal expansion coefficient will change, causing the diaphragm to remain in a deformed state, leading to deviation of the “zero point” for measurement.

    To handle this problem, a unique shape was created by slightly thinning the center part of the diaphragm, such that the diaphragm’s degree of deflection does not change even if film is deposited. The concept is to offset the deflection of the thin part with that of the thick part to reduce error. Success was achieved in determining an optimal shape through deformation simulation and testing.

  2. Controlled Area of Deposition

    Depending on the material used, film may not be deposited evenly on the diaphragm. In this case, even with the newly developed diaphragm structure, the diaphragm will not deflect uniformly, leading potentially to deviation of the zero point. Since the deposition of a uniform film cannot be anticipated, conversely, Azbil devised a method whereby error in the sensor output is reduced even while the diaphragm is deflected by intentionally causing deposition in a specific location.

    In the sensor, there is a pressure-sensing electrode that measures the pressure as well as a reference electrode that corrects for the effect of temperature. Film is deposited at a point in roughly the center of the diaphragm radius where it covers both the pressure-sensing electrode and the reference electrode. Specifically, there is a very small hole at a location corresponding to the sapphire disc that covers the diaphragm to draw in the gas that causes deposition.

  3. Dramatic Suppression of Deposition

    Even with these two countermeasures, there is no change in deposition (depending on the film material). It was anticipated that this would cause a loss of measurement sensitivity and measurement accuracy over time. Therefore, a trap (baffle), which is a very fine filter that removes the base material for the film, was developed to suppress deposition to the greatest extent possible. The structure of this trap includes as many as 4000 fine paths on the circumference to ensure responsiveness. By including this trap structure, the amount of deposition on the diaphragm was calculated to be reduced to 0.03 %, ensuring long-term stability.

Results and Future Outlook

High accuracy and high stability in severe environments, and continuing improvement in response to user needs

The sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge has evolved into a sapphire capacitance diaphragm gauge for atomic layer deposition. This latter vacuum gauge is equipped with several outstanding characteristics, such as very little shift in the zero point even if film is deposited, as well as long-term stability. The gauge continues to receive high praise from our customers, who say they feel confident using Azbil-made vacuum gauges developed in Japan. Having successfully implemented a resolution for a problem in the latest manufacturing process, we look forward to continually meeting the challenge of solving the problems faced by customers at their worksites.

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.