HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 精确到0.1㎛实时检测物体位置的传感器

精确到0.1㎛实时检测物体位置的传感器

高精度边缘检测传感器

作为继正确地检测玻璃及薄膜等边缘(边)部位的阿自倍尔边缘检测传感器之后,又新推出了高精度及高速化的高精度边缘检测传感器。实现检测分辨率为±0.1㎛、检测周期为250μs等业界顶级性能。传感器检测头的厚度仅为8㎜(检测宽7㎜型号),所以容易嵌入到各种装置。传感器也搭载了MECHATROLINK-Ⅲ的现场网络,为提高产品质量提供了强有力的后盾。

背景・需求

边缘检测传感器在2004年开始展开其用途,优秀的性能获得好评

在液晶面板的生产工序中,边缘检测传感器是不可或缺的,可以控制玻璃接合在正确的位置,防止金属箔和薄膜等在卷筒过程中弯曲。

正如字面意思,边缘检测传感器是检测物体的边缘的位置及位置变化的传感器。要求其不仅具有高精度(分辨率),而且具有能够紧跟玻璃的搬运速度及薄膜的卷筒速度等的高速应答性。

阿自倍尓株式会社于2004年发售了激光边缘检测传感器。本产品根据独有的“菲涅耳衍射近似修正[*1]”算法,实现了检测分辨率为±0.1㎛的优秀性能。具有连透明玻璃的边缘也可检测的特点。

边缘检测传感器因能够嵌入到锂离子电池电极材料的卷对卷制程装置及液晶搬运装置等各种各样的生产装置中而获得好评,但是随着生产技术的高精化,需要更高精度及更高速应答性的传感器。

[*1]利用了菲涅耳衍射近似修正的阿自倍尔独有的子像素处理名称

開开发要领

实现与既存技术相比提高10倍的分辨率及2倍的高速化

在沿袭边缘检测传感器的特点的基础上,通过更新专用光学系统和信号处理系统,开发出高检测分辨率及高速应答性的高精度边缘检测传感器。该传感器于2015年1月开始销售

高精度边缘检测传感器的外观(左:投光部和受光部宽为7㎜传感器检测头、中间:投光部和受光部宽为15㎜传感器检测头、右:控制器)

高精度边缘检测传感器的外观(左:投光部和受光部宽为7㎜传感器检测头、中间:投光部和受光部宽为15㎜传感器检测头、右:控制器)

通过运算的高速化及高精度化,高精度边缘检测传感器实现了相当于既存产品的10倍即±0.1㎛的超高检测分辨率[*2]。通过并联回路执行高速运算,检测周期达到250μs,仅仅为既存产品500μs的二分之一,可以对应搬运及卷筒的高速化。移动精度[*3]在±20㎛以下,偏差精度[*4]达±0.1㎛。

[*2] 检测分辨率:内部运算的分辨率
[*3] 移动精度:检测体移动时的实际检测值和实际位移的差
[*4] 偏差精度:将检测体放置在某个位置,在同样条件下多次反复检测时检测值的波动。

在提高性能的同时,传感器检测头的投光部和受光部保持着与既存产品相同的紧凑尺寸,可以安装在装置的各种位置。另外,传感器检测头和控制器间拥有独有的数字接口,最长可以连接25m,提高了安装的自由度。

并且,检测数据向外部转送时增加模拟输出,新追加了现场网络。增加了开放式现场网络规格之一最大输出速率为100Mbps的高速“MECHATROLINK-Ⅲ”接口。能够将检测数据高速且同步转送到上级控制系统中,节省使用配线,能够减少安装及维护的时间。

阿自倍尔的高精度边缘检测传感器的核心

利用光的物理现象检测边缘,曲线拟合检测数据“菲涅耳衍射近似修正”是阿自倍尔的高精度边缘检测传感器的核心。

用光学检测物体边缘最简单的方法是,用光(激光平行光等)照射物体,通过图像传感器检测物体受光部分与背光部分的边界。不过该方法检测的精确度(分辨率)取决于图像传感器的解像度(像素间距),提高分辨率就需要像素间距小的图像传感器。之后要阐述的“衍射”物理现象会导致受光部分与背光部分的边界变得模糊,存在难以正确判断边缘位置的课题。并且,透明物体的受光部分与背光部分的光量(光的强弱)差别小,无法检测。

为了解决该课题,阿自倍尔采用了利用“菲涅耳衍射”光的性质来检测边缘位置的独有方法。衍射是指穿透物体端面或狭缝的光,在物体背光部分发生弯散传播的现象。从物体到投影面(传感器检测头的受光部分)的距离在比较短的条件下观测到的衍射称为“菲涅耳衍射”。

当平行光照射像刀子那样边缘部分呈尖状的物体时,虽然人眼只能分辨出呈现在较近距离放置的投影面上的光亮区与阴影区这两部分的光量,但在严格意义上,呈现在投影面的光量如同图1那样的曲线。从该曲线来看,在检测物体的边缘的稍前方,光量从0%附近开始急剧上升,甚至超过100%。之后上下波动,光量最终向100%处收敛。该光量特性曲线可以用方程式(算式1)表示。

实际上,如果绘制图像传感器获得的光量数据,在理论上能够得到(算式1)或图2的曲线。如果逆向思考,针对图像传感器实际获得的几个点的数据,通过寻找更加相似(尽可能一致)(算式1)的曲线,就能找到边缘位置的点。一般来说,在理论上和经验上有正确的算式为前提要测定不明确的参数时,这种“曲线拟合”或者“曲线回归”的方法会被使用到。

因为无法解析(算式1)的复杂函数,如果应用图像传感器获得的光量数据,就需要庞大的运算量,无法实现作为边缘检测传感器不可缺少的高速化条件。因此,进行边缘位置检测时,在边缘位置凸起部分的光量达到25%的位置进行投影,只考虑如图2的菲涅耳衍射波形图中凸起的部分就足够了。由此设计了比(算式1)简单并且能够解析的如下近似算式(算式2)。

该近似算式,在通过受光面的图像传感器获得的光量数据(图2)中,凸出部分的几个点如果在该曲线上能求得x,则代表着可以推断出边缘位置。阿自倍尔将该观点命名为“菲涅耳衍射近似修正”,并投入到了边缘检测传感器的开发中。

菲涅耳衍射近似修正的特长是不需要高分辨率的图像传感器,通过以上运算,高精度边缘检测传感器检测宽7㎜产品仅使用128像素的图像传感器可以达到7万点的检测分辨率(7㎜÷70,000=0.1㎛),检测宽15㎜的产品使用256像素的图像传感器可以达到15万点的检测分辨率(15㎜÷150,000=00.1㎛)。

(算式1)

这里,λ是光的波长,z是物体到受光面的距离

(算式2)

此处a、b、c是系数,也是固定值

图1.在引起菲涅耳衍射现象的受光面(投影面)上呈现光强弱特性曲线的示例(横轴:受光面的位置、纵轴:光量。物体的边缘作为0mm,物体背对受光面<表格的左侧>)

图2. 受光强弱的图像

成果及今后的展望

用途广泛的高精度边缘检测传感器,为提高产品生产质量作贡献

高精度边缘检测传感器除了开头阐述的能够控制玻璃接合的位置及防止薄膜的弯曲外,还应用在各种各样的用途。例如,半导体晶圆位置的接合、检测薄膜等的厚度、检测辊子间的间隙、检测是否掺杂不同物体或不同种类、检测内径、检测是否有破损或欠缺等(图3)。

本产品能够高速且精准检测,能够捕捉瑕疵品产生的前兆现象。阿自倍尔认为该传感器符合铸就产品质量的顾客需求,还有利于顾客的生产质量的提高。

阿自倍尔今后也将“以人为中心的自动化”的企业理念作为观念,致力于提供优秀的解决方案。

图3. 高精度边缘检测传感器的各种应用示例


 


*MECHATROLINK是、MECHATROLINK协会的商标。 返回




※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > Precision sensors for real-time position measurement with 0.1 ㎛ accuracy

Precision sensors for real-time position measurement with 0.1 ㎛ accuracy

High-precision position sensors

As successors to Azbil's edge detection sensors, which precisely determine the position of glass and film edges, high-accuracy position sensors that deliver even more accurate and fast measurements have been added to the product lineup. The new sensors achieve a measurement resolution of ± 0.1 ㎛ and measurement cycle of 250 ㎛, placing them at the highest level in the industry. The sensor head is only 8㎜ thick (7 ㎜ measurement width model) and is easy to mount on various types of equipment. The position sensors are equipped with support for the MECHATROLINK-Ⅲ*open field network to facilitate product quality improvement.

Background and Needs

Highly rated top-performing edge detection sensors since 2004

In the process of manufacturing liquid crystal displays, edge detection sensors are essential for precise glass alignment and for prevention of meander by metal foil and film as they are rolled up.

Edge detection sensors literally detect the edge of an object and changes in its position. In addition to high accuracy (high resolution), high-speed processing that can keep up with the speed of glass transport or film windup is required.

In 2004, Azbil Corporation put its edge-detecting laser sensors on the market. By utilizing Azbil's unique Fresnel diffraction approximate correction algorithm [*1] , the sensors achieved superior performance, such as a measurement resolution of ± 0.1 ㎛. Their features include sensing of the edge of transparent glass.

The edge detection sensors can be mounted on various types of manufacturing equipment, for example roll-to-roll apparatus for electrode material for lithium-ion battery or LCD conveyors, and have been highly evaluated. Advances in manufacturing technologies, however, have created the need for higher accuracy and faster processing.

[*1] Our name for Azbil's unique sub-pixel processing, which utilizes Fresnel diffraction approximate correction.

Key Innovations

Tenfold increase in resolution and twofold in processing speed

By improving the specially designed optical and signal processing systems, we developed high-accuracy position sensors with enhanced measurement resolution and processing speed, while keeping the strong points of the preceding edge detection sensors. The new sensors became available in January 2015.

Exterior of the high-accuracy position sensors: the emitter and receiver of the 7㎜ measurement width model (left) and of the 15㎜ measurement width(center), and the controller (right)

Exterior of the high-accuracy position sensors: the emitter and receiver of the 7㎜ measurement width model (left) and of the 15㎜ measurement width(center), and the controller (right).

By accelerating the calculating speed and enhancing the accuracy of the new position sensors, we were able to realize the extremely high measurement resolution [*2] of ± 0.1㎛, which is ten times the accuracy of the conventional sensors. With improvements like the introduction of parallel circuits to execute high-speed calculations, the measurement cycle was halved from 500 to 250 μs to support faster transport and winding. The moving accuracy [*3] is 20 ㎛ or less and the repeatability [*4] is ± 1㎛.

 

[*2] Measurement resolution: internal calculation resolution
[*3] Moving accuracy: when the target object is moving, the difference between the measured value and the actual amount of movement
[*4] Repeatability: fluctuation in measured values when a target object is positioned at a place and measured repeatedly multiple times under the same conditions

In spite of their enhanced performance, the sensor heads (emitter and receiver) remain as small as the previous sensors, allowing installation on equipment in various places. In addition, thanks to our unique digital interface, the cable connecting the sensor heads to the controller can be as long as 25 meters, allowing more flexible installation.

Furthermore, in addition to analog output, the new field network function is available for transferring measured data to other devices on the network. The new interface for MECHATROLINK-Ⅲ, an open field network standard, provides high-speed data transfer at 100 Mbps max. Measured data can be simultaneously sent to the host control system at high speed, which reduces the number of cables needed and cuts time required for installation and maintenance.

Detecting edges by utilizing physical phenomena of light and processing measured data by a curve fitting method

The core technology of Azbil's high-accuracy position sensors is Fresnel diffraction approximate correction.

The most simple method of sensing the edge of an object optically is to project light (a collimated laser beam, etc.) onto the object and, by using an imaging sensor, to detect the border between the lighted part and the shaded area blocked by the object. However, an imaging sensor with a fine pixel pitch is required by this method, because the detection accuracy (resolution) depends on the resolution (pixel pitch) of the imaging sensor. In addition, the border of light and shadow is blurred due to a physical phenomenon called diffraction, which is explained below, making precise determination of the edge position difficult. Furthermore, transparent objects are difficult to detect because there is not much difference in the amount of light (light intensity) between the lighted and shaded areas.

To solve these problems, Azbil adopted a unique edge detection method that utilizes a characteristic of light called Fresnel diffraction. Diffraction is a phenomenon in which the light that passes an object's edge or through a slit bends around into the shadow and is then distributed. Diffraction observed when the distance between the object and the surface of projection (the receiving sensor head) is relatively short is called Fresnel diffraction.

When collimated light is projected onto an object having a pointed edge, for example a knife-edge, and when the surface of projection is relatively close to the object, the human eye can distinguish only light and shadow, but not the amount of light on the surface. By technical means, however, data on the light intensity on the projection surface can be represented by the curve in Figure 1. The curve goes up steeply at around a light intensity of 0℅ just before the edge of the target object, and the light intensity exceeds 100℅ Then it goes down and up repeatedly and converges to 100℅. This characteristic curve of light intensity can be expressed in an equation (Equation 1).

In principle, if the light intensity data obtained by an imaging sensor is actually plotted on a graph, the curve calculated by Equation 1 or the curve illustrated in Figure 2 is drawn. Conversely, by calculating a likely (best matching) curve using Equation 1 for the data of several points actually obtained by an imaging sensor, it should be possible to determine the point that indicates the edge position. This method is generally called curve fitting or curvilinear regression, and is used for purposes like calculating unknown parameters of an equation that seems correct for the measurement in theory or by experience.

However, the complex function of Equation 1 cannot be solved analytically. Using it for the light intensity data obtained by an imaging sensor would require a huge amount of calculation, and it would be impossible to increase the processing speed, which is a critical requirement for edge detection sensors. Because the edge position is projected to the area of 25℅ light intensity, which is the rising section of the Fresnel diffraction waveform (Figure 2), we noticed that considering only the rising section would be enough to detect the edge position, and we devised an approximate equation described below (Equation 2), which is simpler than Equation 1 and can be solved analytically.

The significance of this approximate expression is that the edge position can be estimated by calculating x, which puts several points from the rising section of the light intensity data (Figure 2) obtained by the receiver's imaging sensor on this curve. Azbil called this idea "Fresnel diffraction approximate correction" and introduced it into the development of edge detection sensors.

Another advantage of using Fresnel diffraction approximate correction is that high-resolution imaging sensors are not required for detection. Imaging sensors with only 128 pixels are used for the 7㎜ measurement width model of the high-accuracy position sensor to achieve 70,000-point measurement resolution (7㎜ ÷ 70,000 = 0.1㎛), and 256-pixel imaging sensors are used for the 15㎜ measurement width model to realize 150,000-point resolution (15㎜ ÷ 150,000 = 0.1㎛) when using the above-described equation.

(Equation 1)

where λ is the wavelength of light and z is the distance between the target object and the light-receiving surface

(Equation2)

where a, b, and c are coefficients and fixed values

Figure 1. Example of characteristic curve of light intensity on the light-receiving surface (surface of projection) caused by the Fresnel diffraction phenomenon (horizontal axis: the position of the light-receiving surface, vertical axis: light intensity The edge of the object is at 0 mm and the object is on the negative side of the light-receiving surface (left side of the graph.)

Figure 2. Illustration of intensity of received light

Figure 2. Illustration of intensity of received light

Results and Future Outlook

Helping to improve manufacturing quality by providing multipurpose high-accuracy position sensors

Our high-accuracy position sensors can be used for various purposes, such as glass alignment and film meander prevention, that were mentioned above. Other applications include semiconductor wafer alignment, film thickness measurement, measurement of the gap between rollers, detection of foreign matter or intermixed components, inner diameter measurement, and detection of breakage and cracks (Figure 3).

These sensors make fast and highly accurate measurement possible and can detect phenomena predictive of problems in order to prevent the production of a defective product. Its features meet the needs of customers who are moving ahead with product quality improvement. We believe that our high-accuracy position sensors will contribute to improving the quality of production at their plants.

Azbil continues to make every effort to provide excellent solutions in accordance with our corporate philosophy of human-centered automation.

Figure 3. Various applications of high-accuracy position sensors/p>

*MECHATROLINK is a trademark of the MECHATROLINK Members Association.

azbil Technical Review

Industrial Sensor Networking Technology for Improvement of Manufacturing Equipment Effciency

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.