HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 使用了捕捉装置状态变化的特有指标的调节器

使用了捕捉装置状态变化的特有指标的调节器

多功能显示调节器 型号C7

开发出了嵌入半导体生产装置及食品加工装置等中,将回路内的温度控制在一定范围的新型“调节器”——型号C7(以下称为C7)。最多可将4个系统的控制功能内置于小型外壳内。安装了带有触摸板的彩色液晶,采用将提高操作性及可视性的显示元件与主体元件相分离的结构,追求使用的方便性。同时,新开发出了能够定量掌握从传感器数据和操作量(控制信号)到控制回路动作变化的健康指数[*1]这一指标。因为具备故障先兆检测功能,所以可以用于定期检修。

[*1] 用于预知、检测生产设备/制造设备故障的诊断参数(以下称为健康指数)

背景/需求

内置有4环路控制功能的多功能显示调节器C7

保存、加工、处理等过程中的适当的温度管理是能够生产出稳定且均质产品的重要因素之一,在使用化工产品及有机溶剂的制造工厂等中,还能够确保安全性。

进行温度控制的装置称为“调节器”或者“温度调节器”。主要作用是调节温度范围,使其达到根据从温度传感器、压力传感器、流量传感器等读取的信息重新设定的范围,被嵌入半导体生产、食品加工、注射成型、石油加工、药品生产等各种领域的生产装置及控制系统中。

追求“计量和控制”技术的阿自倍尔以生产设备制造商为中心,立足于长年提供调节器的技术和实绩,最多将4个系统(4个反馈回路)的温度控制功能汇集在小型外壳中,并于2016年3月发布了安装有测量控制健全性的特有健康指数功能的新一代多功能显示调节器C7(图1)。

由于采用了带有触摸板功能的彩色液晶显示元件,提高了可视性和使用方便性。进而通过与主体元件分离的结构,提高了安装的自由度。主体元件的接线采用了可以切实简单连接线缆的非螺纹弹簧式端子。具备10㎳的高速可控性(以往型号最高为25㎳)、提高了维护性和功能性的模块结构、以太网(Modbus/TCP)连接性、过程数据及控制输出的日志功能等与新一代相符的各种特点。


图1. 多功能显示调节器C7

图1. 多功能显示调节器C7

开发的要点

通过定量的指标使控制回路的异常可视化

C7所具有的新功能之一是健康指数。 近年,通过安装在装置及设备各个位置的传感器来检测状态,并解析收集到的传感器数据,来优化操作条件及早期发现异常的技术开发盛行。可以说是以工业4.0、智能工厂、工业IoT(Internet of Things)等新工厂及装置为目标的举措之一。

阿自倍尔开发的健康指数是实现在早期阶段检测出异常及故障先兆的指标,具有如下特点。

  1. IoT通常用来检测加热器及阀门等的周边设备及周边装置的各种异常,而健康指数的特点是将与温度控制相关的整个控制回路的动作作为定量的指标进行计算。因为是随着时间的变化来看指标的变化,所以能够掌握整个控制回路的健全性及异常。
  2. 仅使用输入到C7中的传感器数据和C7输出的操作量来计算指标。无需在加热器及阀门等周边设备及周边装置上安装传感器,也不用增加配线等。
  3. 与通过网络将检测数据集中到上层系统的以往的IoT不同,因为是在C7内部进行演算处理,所以无需重新铺设网络或者在上层服务器或云端构建解析应用程序(当然可以根据需要,将C7计算出的指标通过网络向上层发送)。

健康指数的计算式见图2。健康指数中包含着很多内容,此次阿自倍尔开发并领先于业界在C7中安装的健康指数,是用过程增益Kp除以时间常数Tp的“归一化响应能力”这一指标。将“归一化响应能力”用简单易懂的方式来比喻的话,就是将过程值状态的变化量进行指标化后得出的。

仅通过观察图表难以判断的当前温度及操作量关系的细微差别,如图3那样使用归一化响应能力时,可以作为0.050、0.048、0.046、0.044等数值的变化求出。也就是说,能够迅速掌握以加热器及阀门等为对象的控制回路中相关设备或装置所发生的异常。

图2. 健康指数的算法

图2. 健康指数的算法

图3. 用健康指数掌握控制回路的变化

图3. 用健康指数掌握控制回路的变化

通过带有触摸板的彩色液晶提高操作性

阿自倍尔将“以人为中心的自动化”的探索作为企业理念,作为其工作的一环,以提供使用方便的机器及装置为目标。

调节器C7的显示元件采用了带有触摸板的彩色液晶。可以一边看着画面的显示,一边通过触摸操作进行设定,使用方便性受到了顾客的好评。

触摸板中采用了电阻膜方式,而且具备IP67保护等级的防水防尘性能,所以除了能够带着手套进行触摸操作外,湿手也可以进行操作。

此外,将画面纵横分割后,最多可以同时显示4个回路的状态,出现异常的回路以红色突出显示,从远处察看也可以一目了然,提高了可视性。

采用显示元件与主体元件分离的结构,最远可在距离30m(另外提供电源时最长100m)的地方安装。嵌入控制系统或生产装置的自由度高,例如还可以将主体安装在装置的背面,将显示元件安装在前面。

此外,将调节器安装在前面的开门式面板上时,以往必须把传感器信号及操作信号等大量的电缆挂在合叶部分,而C7仅使用1根电缆就完成了主体与显示元件之间的连接,可以省去合叶部分的配线工作。

图4. 安装带有触摸板的彩色液晶

图4. 安装带有触摸板的彩色液晶

图5. 通过采用主体元件与显示元件相分离的结构,提高了嵌入的自由度

图5. 通过采用主体元件与显示元件相分离的结构,提高了嵌入的自由度

成果和今后的展望

建议使用在装置端处理的本地计算

如前所述,虽然检测工厂内的机器及设备并将数据集中到云端,以实现各种可视化的IoT正在蓬勃发展,但是也存在一些课题,如发送到云端的大量传感器数据会占用网络的通信容量,增大云端的处理负荷等。

因此,为了抑制通信量,人们提倡采用通过IoT网关等进行中间处理的边缘计算和雾计算等架构。

阿自倍尔建议使用的是进一步减少层次,由装置自行处理传感数据的“本地计算”。

安装在C7中的健康指数等指标能够将传感数据原封不动地发送到云端,并在云端进行计算,不过若要抑制网络流量而延长数据发送间隔的话,像生产装置这种动作变化快的设备就变得无法正确掌握动作的变化。

关于这一点,如果是本地计算的话,无需考虑网络流量,可以通过从检测对象及分析手法导出的最佳条件及时间进行计算。

阿自倍尔今后会根据需要来组合应用像本地计算这样的框架,同时向顾客提案进行工厂及装置智能化的推进。


图6. 在装置端处理的本地计算

图6. 在装置端处理的本地计算




※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > Controller uses Azbil-original index to detect changes in the status of control equipment

Controller uses Azbil-original index to detect changes in the status of control equipment

Model C7 Multi-Loop Controller with Multifunction Display

For use with semiconductor-manufacturing and food-processing equipment, among others, we have developed a new controller, model C7, that maintains a consistent temperature within a loop. In spite of its compact frame, the C7 controls as many as four systems simultaneously. For superior usability, the display unit is separable from the main unit and features a touch panel color LCD for ease of use and high visibility. In addition, we have developed a health index function[*1] that uses sensor data and control signal (M.V.) amplitude to quantify changes in control loop behavior. This provides advance warning of equipment problems, allowing timely preventative maintenance.

[*1]Diagnostic indicator for prediction or detection of production equipment failure

Background and Needs

The C7 multi-loop controller with a multifunctional display

Good temperature control in storage, manufacturing, and processing is essential in creating uniform and homogeneous products. For manufacturing sites that handle chemical products and organic solvents, temperature control can be a key component in ensuring safety.

The type of equipment responsible for this vital function is called a temperature controller or simply a controller. Its main purpose is to receive data input from devices such as temperature sensors, pressure sensors, and flow rate sensors and to output control signals to heaters or valves so as to maintain a preset temperature range. Controllers are used in manufacturing equipment and control systems in various industries, such as semiconductor manufacturing, food processing, injection molding, oil refining, and pharmaceutical manufacturing.

In keeping with its achievements in measurement and control technology over the years as a supplier of controllers, particularly for the makers of manufacturing equipment, in March 2016 Azbil announced the development of the revolutionary C7 controller (Fig. 1). In addition to incorporating temperature control capabilities for a maximum of four systems (four feedback loops) in a compact case, the controller features a health index function that gauges the soundness of connected equipment.

Visibility and usability have been improved compared with previous models through the use of a touch panel color LCD on the display unit. For more flexible installation, the display unit can be separated from the main unit. Also, for ease of wiring, the main unit has spring-type terminals for convenient, secure, screwless connections. The controller is fully equipped with advanced features, such as fast 10㎳ control speed (previous models maxed out at 25㎳), a block structure to ensure maintainability and functionality, Ethernet (Modbus/TCP) connectivity, and a logging function for process data and control output.

Figure 1. C7 multi-loop controller with multifunction display

Figure 1. C7 multi-loop controller with multifunction display

Key Innovations

Enhanced visibility of problems by quantifying control loop fluctuation

One of the C7’s new functions is its health index. In recent years there has been a trend towards developing equipment that employs sensors in various positions to monitor status and collect data. This data is then analyzed to optimize operation, or for early detection of abnormalities. Known by various names such as Industry 4.0, smart factories, or industrial IoT (Internet of Things), this trend is a part of a larger movement towards a new way of operating industrial factories and plants.

The health index is a diagnostic indicat or designed to detect abnormalities and failures by predicting them at an early stage. It has the following features.

  1. IoT technology is generally used to detect various abnormalities in peripheral devices and equipment such as heaters and valves. What makes the health index distinctive is its ability to calculate a quantitative index representing the behavior of an entire control loop related to temperature control. By observing changes in this index over time, the status of the entire control loop-whether it is healthy or abnormal-can be understood.
  2. The health index is calculated using only the sensor data input to the C7 and the amplitude of the control output from the C7. There is no need to connect sensors to surrounding devices and equipment (e.g., heaters and valves) or to run additional wires.
  3. Unlike existing IoT technology, sensing data is not collected by a host system via a network, but is instead calculated and processed internally by the C7. This eliminates the need to install a new network or to create an analytical application on a host server or in the cloud, although it is of course possible to transmit the index from the C7 to a host system via a network if necessary.

The health index is calculated using the formula shown in Figure 2. Various types of index could be made to show the health of a system, but the health index we developed and incorporated into the C7 is a step ahead of the competition because it uses an indicator called “normalized responsiveness” that equals the process gain Kp divided by the time constant Tp. In simpler terms, normalized responsiveness is a numerical representation of the amount of variation in the process.

With normalized responsiveness, even slight variations in the current temperature or in the control output, which would be difficult to discern on a graph, can be captured, as shown in Figure 3 with the numerals 0.050, 0.048, 0.046, and 0.044. As a result, changes that occur in any equipment or device related to the control loop (e.g., heaters or valves) can be detected quickly.

Figure 2. Health index calculation algorithm

Figure 2. Health index calculation algorithm

Figure 3. Detecting changes in the control loop using health index

Figure 3. Detecting changes in the control loop using health index

Touch panel color LCD provides improved usability

In keeping with its corporate philosophy, Azbil pursues the goal of “human-centered automation.” As part of that effort, we strive to provide easy-to-use devices and equipment.

In the case of the C7 controller, we chose a touch panel color LCD for the display unit. The C7 has been well received by customers for its ease of use, because settings can be changed while looking at the indications on the display.

Since the touch panel is the resistive film type and has IP67 waterproof and dust-proof performance, it recognizes touches even when the user is wearing gloves, and it can be operated by users with wet hands.

The touch panel can also show the status of up to four loops at once by dividing the screen horizontally and vertically. If there is a problem, the display of the relevant loop is highlighted in red and its visibility is increased to make it noticeable at a glance from a distance.

The display unit is physically separable from the main unit and can be installed up to 30 meters away (up to 100 meters away using a separate power source), facilitating highly flexible installation in control systems and manufacturing equipment. For example, it is easy to place the main unit on the back side of a piece of equipment and the display on the front.

Also, in cases where a controller is installed in the door of a panel that opens, many cables for sensors and operation signals are usually clustered around the hinge of the door. In the case of the C7, the main unit and display unit are connected by a single cable, which reduces the number of wires near the hinge.

Figure 4. Equipped with a touch panel color LCD

Figure 4. Equipped with a touch panel color LCD

Figure 5. The main unit can be separated from the display unit(s), affording a high degree of flexibility in installation.

Figure 5. The main unit can be separated from the display unit(s), affording a high degree of flexibility in installation.

Results and Future Prospects

Data processing by equipment can achieve local computing

As previously mentioned, there are many IoT approaches underway to realize various types of visualization by means of sensing devices and equipment in factories and plants, together with data collection in the cloud. Some problems, however, can be expected. Sending a large amount of sensor data into the cloud will require significant network bandwidth and will increase the processing load in the cloud.

To get around these problems, architecture that can reduce traffic has been proposed, such as edge computing or fog computing, in which there is intermediate processing by IoT gateways or the like.

As an alternative, Azbil proposes local computing to further flatten the hierarchy by having sensing data processed by the field equipment itself.

The health index in the C7 can send sensing data to the cloud as-is for processing, but if data transmission intervals are lengthened in order to reduce network traffic, it will not be possible to precisely grasp fast changes in behavior such as those that can occur in manufacturing equipment.

With local computing, however, calculations can be made without concern for network traffic, at the time and under the conditions that are optimal for the sensing targets and analytical procedures.

Going forward, Azbil will suggest to customers that factories and plants be made smarter by integrating, as needed, architectures such as local computing.

Figure 6. Local computing with equipment-side processing

Figure 6. Local computing with equipment-side processing

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.