HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 实现数据中心的稳定运行和节能的环境解决方案

实现数据中心的稳定运行和节能的环境解决方案

数据中心环境解决方案

数据中心最大的作用是确保服务器、存储器、网络设备等IT设备的安全稳定运行,提供维护/运用服务。为抗震的建筑物配备安全设备和紧急电源设备等。始终维持温度环境,对空调设备和气流进行综合持续的管理,为IT设备提供稳定的冷气。阿自倍尔提供的“数据中心环境解决方案”能帮助用户实现冗余性和节能。

背景・需求

在保护IT设备的数据中心,维持稳定环境所不可或缺的空调设备

在必须保证IT设备能够稳定运行的数据中心,空调发挥着极其重要的作用。如果空调不合适,数据中心内IT设备释放的热量导致环境温度超出规定范围※的话,不仅会降低可靠性,甚至可能引起误动作(所谓的系统宕机)。如果数据中心发生这样的情况,企业将被迫中断事业活动,蒙受巨大的损失。而为了防止此类事件的发生,有的企业会进行过度冷却,导致能源成本上升。因此,数据中心的空调应具备以下功能和特性。

  1. 能够消除局部热量堆积和散热回流,以及过度冷却引起的不平衡,为所有IT设备提供温度适宜的冷气
  2. 能够应对处理负荷变动带来的IT设备发热量增减,以及IT设备和机架增设(撤除)
  3. 确保在维护或故障导致部分空调机停止时,也能够通过其他空调机来维持温热环境的冗余性和运用性
  4. 实现满足上述条件的稳定运用的同时,避免过度冷却并推进节能,降低运行成本和减少CO2排放量

为了实现以上需求,从整体的视角对数据中心的气流进行控制和管理,同时始终为数据中心内所有的IT设备保持最佳的温度环境,而且是冗余性和节能兼备的解决方案便是阿自倍尔株式会社的数据中心环境解决方案。

数据中心的空调所具有的课题

数据中心的空调所具有的课题

受柱子、横梁、机架或障碍物等各种因素的影响,会发生气流紊乱、发生热量堆积或过度冷却。

※美国供暖制冷空调工程师学会(ASHRAE)对数据中心内的机器吸入温度规定为:推荐值18-27℃、容许值10-35℃。

解决方案的要点

有效利用基于流体分析的“可视化”及传感技术,持续管理整体气流

“数据中心环境解决方案”的基本理念为“Demand Based Cooling”,即根据机器的发热量,向必要的位置提供必要的冷气。首先,对服务器房中的温热环境进行调查,利用流体分析(CFD)使数据中心内的气流和温度分布实现“可视化”,同时对部分空调机停止等各种事故的情境进行模拟,推导出最佳的气流优化对策。

然后根据对策,安装地板冷却风扇或天花板回气风扇等设备,消除热量堆积或过度冷却等。此外,根据各处安装的温度传感器的传感数据来控制空调机和地板冷却风扇。除了空调机覆盖的区域外,区域之间也通过冷气流通等来确保气流的效率化和均匀化,根据IT设备的发热量为所有机架和设备提供稳定运行所需的冷气。

进而,与数据中心的运用管理员密切合作,当机架或设备有大幅增设、功耗(处理负荷)有大幅变动时,及时对气流的区域和控制进行修正,持续维持稳定的环境。阿自倍尔具有分析热量/气流的专业知识,熟悉数据中心各种设备的特性,同时拥有大量实际成果和经验,实现了冷却的可靠性和安全性并存。

数据中心环境解决方案

气流管理解决方案“AdaptivCOOL”

通过地板冷却风扇控制、天花板回气风扇控制及空调机台数控制,不间断地监视机器的吸入温度和空调机的状态,维持适宜的温热环境。

成果和今后的展望

维持环境稳定的同时,实现冗余性和节能。被数十个站点引进,发挥出显著的效果

“数据中心环境解决方案”实现了数据中心空调的效率化和均匀化,为IT设备提供稳定的运行环境,目前已被包括阿自倍尔社内数据中心在内的数十个站点引进,在确保冗余性及节能方面发挥着显著的效果。

例如,位于东京首都圈的某信息通讯公司的数据中心,已通过优化气流和安装地板冷却风扇等消除了热量堆积并实现了冷却的均匀化。同时,还停止了多台空调机的运转,成功地降低了运行成本(空调机转为备用)。此外,利用温度传感数据的实时监视,使稳定的运用成为可能。

数据中心内的温热情况会因机器的增设等频繁发生变化。以前没有任何解决方案能够持续应对这样的变化。

阿自倍尔的“数据中心环境解决方案”利用流体分析技术对数据中心内的气流及热分布进行模拟及情境分析,通过区域间的冷气流通等实现均匀冷却,还能应对IT设备的增减及发热量的短期或长期变化,是以持续性服务为特点的气流管理解决方案,有利于实现数据中心的长期稳定。

引进前(左)和引进后(右)的温度分布(实测)

“AdaptivCOOL”引进前(左)和引进后(右)的温度分布(实测)

之前会发生超出推荐温度范围的29℃的热量堆积。通过引进数据中心环境解决方案实现了均匀冷却和空调机台数的削减。




※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > Data center environment solutions ensuring energy-efficiency and reliable operation

Data center environment solutions ensuring energy-efficiency and reliable operation

Airflow management solution for data center environments

The primary roles of a data center are to operate IT equipment such as servers, storage devices, and communications equipment safely and reliably, and to provide operational services for customers. To ensure reliable and safety operation, emergency power generators and security system, etc., are installed in earthquake-resistant buildings. The temperature should be well maintained, with computer room air conditioners (CRACs) and airflow comprehensively and continuously managed so that cold air is reliably supplied to the IT equipment. Azbil Corporation offers an airflow management solution for data center environments that provides both redundancy and energy conservation.

Background and Needs

CRAC units maintaining a consistent environment for IT equipment

CRAC units play a key role in assuring uninterrupted uptime of IT equipment. If CRACs don’t operate appropriately, the temperature may exceed the thermal range[*1] due to the heat generated by IT equipment. This will degrade the reliability of the equipment and, in a worst-case scenario, lead to the system going down.

Such a critical failure at the data center would force companies to interrupt their business, and lead major losses. In order to prevent a critical failure, some data centers overcool their entire space to accommodate hot spots. This causes increasing their energy costs. The following functions and characteristics are desirable for CRACs.

  1. Elimination of hot spots, reentry of exhaust heat, and unbalanced airflow due to excessive cooling, so that cold air at right temperature is supplied to all IT devices.
  2. Ability to adapt to increased or decreased IT load
  3. Sufficient redundancy and flexibility to maintain the server room environment when an incident such as a CRAC failure occurs.
  4. In addition to satisfying the above points and operating reliably, cooling units are required energy savings, and reduction of the operation cost and CO2 emission by eliminating excessive cooling.

To meet these requirements, Azbil Corporation offers an airflow management solution that controls data center airflow comprehensively and appropriately, constantly maintaining the most suitable temperature and environment for IT equipment while providing redundancy and energy conservation.

Problems for data center air conditioning

Airflow can be disturbed by pillars, beams, racks, and other obstructions, causing hot spots and excessive cooling.

Airflow can be disturbed by pillars, beams, racks, and other obstructions, causing hot spots and excessive cooling.

[*1] The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating & Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) recommends an intake air temperature of 18–27℃ for data center equipment, with 10–35℃ as allowable.

Key Innovations

Airflow management with sensing technology and "visualization" by means of computational fluid dynamic analysis

The basic concept behind Azbil’s airflow management solution is demand-based cooling, in which the required amount of cold air is supplied to the necessary place according to the amount of heat generated by the equipment.

First, the thermal environment of the server room is examined. Using computational fluid dynamic (CFD) analysis, the airflow and heat distribution in the server room is visualized. A variety of “What if” scenarios, such as CRAC failures, can then be simulated, so that the measures necessary for optimizing the airflow can be taken.

Next, based on the measures determined to be necessary, underfloor air mover, overhead air mover, etc., are installed to eliminate problems like hot spots and excessive cooling. The next step is to control CRACs, underfloor air mover, and other such equipment on the basis of sensing data from temperature sensors installed in key locations. The CRAC supplies cold air not only to its defined zone, but also can flexibly cover the area between zones in order to achieve efficient and uniform airflow distribution. All racks and IT devices can be received enough air for their stable operation.

Furthermore, if significant changes to room layout or IT load occurs, the airflow zones and control method are reevaluated, in close consultation with the data center administrator, in order to continuously maintain a consistent environment.

Drawing upon its expertise in thermal and airflow analysis, thorough understanding of the various characteristics of equipment, such as IT equipment, and CRACs, electrical equipment and achievements and experience in this field, Azbil Corporation provides reliable and safe cooling.

Airflow management solution

By controlling the underfloor and overhead air movers and CRAC operation, this solution ensures good data center thermal health through continuous monitoring of the intake air temperature of servers and the status of cooling units

Results and Future Outlook

Stabilization of the server room environment, plus redundancy and energy conservation Remarkable effectiveness demonstrated at numerous installation sites

Azbil’s airfow management solution achieves cooling efficiency and uniformity, providing operating environment stability for IT equipment, along with ensuring redundancy and the benefits of energy efficiency. It has been installed at tens of sites, including Azbil Corporation's own data center, and has shown remarkable effectiveness.

In an example from the Tokyo metropolitan area, after optimization of airflow distribution and installation of equipment such as underfloor air mover at a telecommunications company data center, hot spots were eliminated and consistent cooling was achieved. In addition, it was possible to shut down a number of CRAC, successfully reducing operation costs (the surplus CRACs are kept on hand as backup). Also, reliable operation is now made possible by real-time monitoring of temperature sensing data.

The thermal environment at a data center is an ever changing. In the past, there was no solution that could continuously cope with such changes.

But since Azbil's airflow management solution, uses CFD analysis to provide simulations of airflow and thermal distribution, scenario analysis, equalization of cooling by flexible supply of cold air between zones, and continuous support for short-term or long-term fluctuation in heat generation due to added or removed IT equipment, uninterrupted operation of the data center can be achieved.


Before (left) and after (right) results using the airflow management solution

In the past there were 29 °C hot spots, exceeding the recommended temperature range. Installation of Azbil’s airflow management solution provided uniform cooling and reduced the number of operating CRACs.

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.