HOME > 关于阿自倍尔 > 研究开发 > azbil techne - 研究开发的实例 > 能掌握阀门异常及老化问题的具有诊断功能的阀门定位器

能掌握阀门异常及老化问题的具有诊断功能的阀门定位器

智能阀门定位器

阿自倍尔将“以人为中心的自动化”作为企业理念,向全球推广用于阀门流量调节的阀门定位器产品,开发出“700系列智能阀门定位器”,实现了高功能化,并提升了维护保养性能。完美继承了拥有超过50万台市场销售业绩的传统产品的高可靠性及坚固性,同时增加了自动设置功能与诊断功能。

背景・需求

在全球推广阀门定位器,利用数字控制推进智能化发展

除石油相关装置、化工装置以外,在钢铁、纸浆、食品、制药等行业的工厂里,也会利用阀门(调节阀)进行气体或液体流量的控制。对于其使用数量,小型装置大约要几百个,大型装置则要超过数千个。

对这些阀门的开闭及开启程度(开度)的调节,要通过上位控制系统来进行,实际完成动作的则是阀门定位器(图1)。向阀门的执行器(阀结构部)通入压缩空气,调节空气压,根据Stem(阀杆)的机械位置来检测阀门开度,利用反馈控制通过控制信号来发送指令,使阀门保持在适当的开度。

阀门定位器的功能看似简单,然而实际并非如此,它必须在阀门内部对每一点具有不同全开/全关位置的阀杆检测值分别进行修正,还需要具备能检测已设定开度与实际开度之间差异的功能。并且要求具有能适应从寒冷地带到酷暑地带(沙漠)大范围环境条件的长期可靠性及坚固性。

阿自倍尔株式会社经过长期研究,使机械式(模拟式)阀门定位器实现了产业化,自1998年起开始推广实现数字化控制的智能阀门定位器。代表性产品“300系列智能阀门定位器”(以下简称300系列)不仅在日本,还在全世界的装置及工厂中使用,已经拥有引以为豪的超出50万台的发货量。

图1.阀门截面图

图1.阀门截面图

开发的要点

大幅超越传统机型的性能、改善点有3方面

作为300系列的上位机型,阿自倍尔开发出了“700系列智能阀门定位器”(以下简称700系列),于2014年3月开始出货(带有TIIS耐压防爆认证的是2015年2月之后出厂的)。700系列是将“以人为中心的自动化”作为企业理念开发出的阀门定位器产品。

00系列的特点是,通过缩短自动设置的时间,缩短了现场启动时间,通过强化诊断功能,实现了即使不依靠业务熟练者的经验也能进行调节阀的检查,即使在爆炸性环境下也能进行更加安全且简便的调节与设定。通过将这些与人关系较为密切的性能实现高功能化,为实现装置的安全可靠作业以及简化现场作业人员的工作做出贡献。改善点的概要如下所述。

700系列智能阀门定位器

700系列智能阀门定位器

300系列智能阀门定位器

300系列智能阀门定位器

尤其注重调节阀的控制/诊断方面的功能与性能,被比作头脑,因此在设计中采用了会使人联想到人类大脑的、有机形式的700系列智能阀门定位器(图片上)。凭借富有个性的设计风格,在2015年7月日刊工业新闻社主办的第45届机械工业设计奖上获得审查委员会特别奖。与300系列(图片下)相比,曲面的美观设计也使之更具厚重感。

  1. 设置操作的简化

    阀门定位器可以与各种阀门组合使用。由于从阀门的全关状态到全开状态,施加给阀门的空气压力与开度之间的关系均要由阀门定位器来掌握,因此在安装后必须进行设置作业。

    阿自倍尔在300系列产品上,领先全行业搭载了能自动完成设置作业的“自动设置功能”,获得了较高评价。在700系列产品上,自动设置功能得到进一步完善,使得在300系列产品上需要120秒完成的操作缩短到了45秒。

    在自动设置过程中所花费的大半时间,都是使阀门全行程动作的时间。在300系列产品中,全行程动作进行了3次。与其相对,在700系列产品中,将全行程中的阀门位置及经过的时间存储到大容量存储器中,之后通过数据参照而减少到2次。

    对于自动设置,要求具备确定控制参数以及获取诊断初期信息的功能。为此设计了以足够精度提取所需各项信息的阀门动作方法。该动作由在中间开度2点的微小往复斜面(倾斜)动作组成(图2)。利用宽度与速度最佳化的微小往复斜面,能够测定出动作附近的准静态状态(控制输出、喷嘴背压、输出压、开度)。这是为缩短自动设置时间而由阿自倍尔自主开发的一项技术。

    图2.中间开度2点的微小往复斜面动作

    图2.中间开度2点的微小往复斜面动作

  2. 诊断功能的扩充

    在装置或工厂中,保持阀门及阀门定位器的健全性极为重要,定期检查及调整作业是必不可少的。一方面,要通过人工来完成大面积分布的大量阀门、阀门定位器的检查并不容易,也会导致维护保养费用的上升。

    700系列产品充实了诊断功能,在阀门及阀门定位器的动作中,搭载了对阀门异常情况的掌握、对阀门表现出老化倾向的掌握,以及对700系列阀门定位器自身的异常加以掌握的功能。

    诊断项目包括围绕阀门的流体压力、弹簧力等力的平衡判断其是否适当的力平衡诊断、检测摩擦面之间粘接的粘滑诊断等多个方面。

    700系列产品上搭载了300系列产品上所不具备的压力传感器。并且还在阀门定位器产品上史无前例地搭载了4个压力传感器。由于这4个传感器的搭载,出现了耗电量增大的问题,但通过对每个传感器分时间供电的方法使问题得以解决。

    通过搭载压力传感器,可以实现空气回路诊断与力平衡诊断(输出空气压力妥当性监控与最大摩擦力监控)。这些是300系列产品上没有而在700系列产品上新实现的项目。这些均是仅采用单位时间变化量小的数据所获得的静态特性。

    空气回路诊断是检测由于设备故障而堆积在定位器中的油分、水分等的严重程度的诊断方法。通过力平衡诊断中的输出空气压妥当性监控,能够检测到操作空气压力的设备的异常情况(弹簧老化、倾斜)等。最大摩擦力监控器能够诊断压盖填料的异常情况(老化、硬化、软化)等。

    图3.操作器弹簧发生脱落情况时的输出空气压力妥当性监控数据变化

    图3.操作器弹簧发生脱落情况时的输出空气压力妥当性监控数据变化

    图4.发生压盖填料异常等情况时的最大摩擦力监控数据变化

    图4.发生压盖填料异常等情况时的最大摩擦力监控数据变化

    700系列产品支持最新版的设备行业事实通信标准,可与所有上位系统相连接,能够实现常时稳定的通信。700系列产品的诊断结果通过向上位系统传递,可以灵活运用到预知维护方面。通过从以时间为基准的维护保养到以状态为基准的维护保养的方式转变,将使维护保养的成本得到进一步削减。

  3. 现场操作性的改善

    700系列产品上搭载有本地用户界面(LUI),因此不仅可以在装置的中央控制室内,即使在现场也能进行设置与诊断。在前盖内侧带有进行菜单操作的4个按钮及液晶显示器,能够实现运转开始时的自动设置的执行、控制参数的设定、诊断信息的确认、供给空气压力或输出空气压力的显示、阀门手动操作的切换等功能。

    700系列产品除取得了产业安全技术协会[*1]规定的TIIS耐压防爆认证以外,还取得了世界各国的防爆认证。万一在阀门定位器内部电路中产生火花,也不会影响到外部,不会损坏装置整体的安全性。即使在爆炸性环境中也能安全进行设定操作。

    进行设定操作等的按钮,并非普通的电气开关,而是通过机壳外部的磁铁及机壳内部的磁传感器将操作信号传送到内部电路。从而满足了耐压防爆的条件要求,实现了在保持外壳密闭性的同时进行操作的目标。由于磁力控制较难,因此增大了因设计带来的误动作风险。在700系列产品上,凭借阿自倍尔高水平的设计能力,实现了加大磁铁与传感器的距离,而传感器之间(开关间)更加接近的配置。磁铁与传感器间的距离约为3cm,传感器间隔(开关间隔)约为2cm。

    [*1] 进行日本工厂用防爆设备认证的公益社团法人

    700系列产品的本地用户界面

成果和今后的展望

提供以人为中心的价值,为客户的装置/工厂服务

以上介绍了700系列产品的部分特点,该设备已经在日本国内客户的装置上引进。2016年1月,随着取得SIL认证[*2]的功能安全型产品的开始销售等,阿自倍尔响应多种需求,不断充实产品阵容。此外,向产油国家大型石油装置上的推广也在计划当中。

此外,阿自倍尔还提供能够在线进行阀门及阀门定位器监控与检查管理的应用软件「PLUG-IN Valstaff」(图5)。


图5.PLUG-IN Valstaff的系统构成示例

图5.PLUG-IN Valstaff的系统构成示例

[*2] 对功能安全进行规范的IEC(国际电气标准会议)标准61508,在用于表示系统安全性的尺度方面,规定了SIL1到SIL4四个级别。




※ azbil techne 中的产品与服务因国家或地域而异。

HOME > About the azbil Group > Research & Development > azbil techne – R&D Examples > Valve positioner with diagnostic functions for detecting valve abnormalities and signs of deterioration

Valve positioner with diagnostic functions for detecting valve abnormalities and signs of deterioration

Smart valve positioner

Azbil Corporation, which provides the global market with valve positioners to control valve flow rate, has recently announced the development of its 700 Series smart valve positioners, which offer enhanced functionality and maintainability, in keeping with Azbil's corporate philosophy of “human-centered automation.” While maintaining the high reliability and robustness of the preceding models, which have sold over a half million units, we have improved the auto-setup function and diagnostic functions.

Background and Needs

Providing more intelligent, digitally controlled valve positioners for the global market

At oil and chemical plants, as well as steel, pulp, food, and pharmaceutical plants and other industrial facilities, valves are installed on pipes in order to control the flow rate of gases or liquids. Hundreds of valves are used at a small facility and thousands are necessary at a large facility.

The host control system controls the opening and closing of these valves and adjusts the degree of opening (travel), and valve positioners physically move the valves (Fig. 1). Valve positioners supply compressed air to the actuator (a mechanical part of the valve), detect the valve travel from the position of the valve stem, and adjust the air pressure to keep the proper travel as commanded by the control signals, which are generated using feedback control.

The function of valve positioners at first glance seems simple, but in fact positioners need to internally calculate correction for the detected stem position of valves, each of which has different full-open and full-close positions. Functions such as detecting the difference between the set travel and actual travel are also necessary. In addition, long-term reliability and robustness in various environmental conditions from cold to extremely hot (desert) climates are required.

Azbil Corporation has long been providing mechanical (analog) valve positioners. In 1998, we started selling smart valve positioners featuring digital control. The 300 Series of smart valve positioners, our signature products, have already sold over half a million units and are used at plants or factories in Japan and around the globe.

Cross-sectional view of a valve

Figure 1. Cross-sectional view of a valve

Key Innvations

Greatly enhanced performance with three key improvements

Azbil Corporation developed 700 Series smart valve positioners as an improved version of the 300 Series and started shipment in March 2014 (Feb. 2015 for TIIS pressure-resistant explosion-proof certified models). 700 Series positioners were developed to reflect the azbil Group's philosophy of "human-centered automation."

The features of the 700 Series include shorter auto-setup time for faster on-site operation startup, enhanced diagnostic functions allowing inexperienced users to inspect control valves, and functions providing safer and easier adjustment and setup even in explosive atmospheres. By improving these functions, which greatly affect human operations, we hope to contribute to safe and reliable plant operation and a better on-site work environment. The improvements are outlined in the following sections.

700 Series smart valve positioners

700 Series smart valve positioners

300 Series smart valve positioners

300 Series smart valve positioners

Focusing thoroughly on the functionality of controlling and diagnosing control valves and likening the positioners to the brain, we created an organic design for 700 Series positioners (left photo above) that calls to mind the human brain. Because of its characteristic design, the 700 Series won the Review Committee Special Award in the 45th Machine Design Awards held in July 2015, which was sponsored by the Business & Technology Daily News (Nikkan Kogyo Shinbun). Compared to the 300 Series (right photo above), its curved surface has a beautiful design and creates the impression of substantiality.

  1. Simpler setup

    Positioners are used with various types of valves. Setup is necessary after installation so that the positioner can learn the valve's full-open to full-close range of positions and the relationship between the air pressure supplied to the valve and the amount of travel.

    Azbil implemented the auto setup function on the 300 Series ahead of its competitors, and the function has been greatly appreciated by customers. We refined the auto setup function for the 700 Series, shortening the time required for setup from 120 seconds for the 300 Series to just 45 seconds.

    Most of the auto setup time is used by executing a full stroke of the valve. The 300 Series needs to perform three full strokes. The 700 Series needs only two full strokes, which was made possible by storing valve positions during a full stroke and the elapsed time in a large capacity memory, and referring to this data later.

    To set up positioners automatically, functions for determining control parameters and obtaining initial diagnostic information are required. We invented a valve operation method from which various types of information necessary for these functions can be extracted with the needed accuracy. This method consists of reciprocating micro ramping at two intermediate travel points (Fig. 2). From the reciprocating micro ramping performed with the optimum width and speed, it is now possible to measure a quasi-static state (control output, nozzle back pressure, output pressure, and travel) near the operation points.

    Figure 2. Reciprocating micro ramping at two intermediate travel points

    Figure 2. Reciprocating micro ramping at two intermediate travel points

  2. Enhanced diagnostic functions

    At plants and factories, it is extremely important to keep valves and valve positioners in a sound condition, and regular inspection and adjustment are essential. However, it is not easy to manually inspect each of the many valves and positioners scattered throughout an extensive site, which would increase maintenance costs.

    The 700 Series has improved diagnostic functions that enable users to detect valve abnormality and signs of deterioration while the valves and positioners are operating. Furthermore, 700 Series positioners are equipped with a function for detecting an abnormality in their own functioning.

    Various diagnostics are available, including force balance diagnosis to determine whether the forces related to the valve (fluid pressure, spring power, etc.) are properly balanced, and stick-slip diagnosis to detect sticking and slipping on the sliding surfaces.

    The 700 Series has four pressure sensors that are not found on the 300 Series. It is rare that a valve positioner has so many pressure sensors. Normally the addition of four sensors would increase power consumption, but we solved this problem by supplying power to each sensor only when it is in use.

    The pressure sensors make possible the air circuit diagnosis and force balance diagnosis (monitoring output air pressure [PO] validity and maximum friction). These newly added diagnostics for the 700 Series are not available on the 300 Series. Static characteristics data are acquired for diagnosis by collecting only data for small amounts of change per unit time.

    The air circuit diagnosis uses an algorithm for detecting oil or water accumulation in the positioner due to facility problems or other causes. By means of the PO validity monitoring for force balance diagnosis, problems of the components that control air pressure (deterioration and falling of a spring, etc.) can be detected. With maximum friction monitoring, problems such as gland packing deterioration, hardening, or softening can be diagnosed.

    Figure 3. PO validity monitoring data in a case when an actuator spring has fallen off

    Figure 3. PO validity monitoring data in a case when an actuator spring has fallen off

    Figure 4. Maximum friction monitoring data when a gland packing abnormality, etc., has occurred

    Figure 4. Maximum friction monitoring data when a gland packing abnormality, etc., has occurred

    The 700 Series supports the latest de facto communication standards for industrial plants. The positioner can be connected to any host system and provides continuous reliable communications. The results of diagnoses made by the 700 Series are sent to the host system to be utilized for predictive maintenance. We believe that maintenance costs can be reduced by shifting from time-based maintenance to condition-based maintenance.

  3. Easier on-site operation

    We implemented a local user interface (LUI) on the 700 Series so that setup and diagnosis can be performed on the site as well as from the control room. Inside the front cover there are four buttons for selecting menus and a liquid crystal display. Users can execute auto-setup before starting operation, set control parameters, check diagnostic information, display supply air pressure or output air pressure, select manual operation of the valve, etc.

    The 700 Series has acquired pressure-resistant explosion-proof certification issued by the Technology Institution of Industrial Safety (TIIS) [*1] and other explosion-proof certifications from around the world. If somehow the internal circuits of the valve positioner would emit sparks, there would be no effect outside the positioner, and the plant would remain safe. Setup can be performed safely even in an explosive atmosphere.

    The push buttons for changing settings are not electrical switches, as is usually the case. Instead, the operational signals are relayed to the internal circuits using magnets outside the housing and magnetic sensors inside the housing. Because of this mechanism, it is possible to operate the positioner while meeting the pressure-resistant explosion-proof requirements and keeping the housing well sealed. Generally speaking, magnetic control is difficult, and the risk of malfunction is high, depending on the design. Azbil, with its excellent design capabilities, has succeeded in mounting the magnetic sensors (switches) of the 700 Series close to one another, keeping a long distance from the magnets. The distance between the sensors (switches) is approximately 2㎝ while the distance between the magnets and sensors is about 3㎝.

    [*1] A public-interest incorporated association that certifies the safety of explosion-proof devices used at factories in Japan.

    The local user interface of the 700 Series

     

Results and Future Outlook

Supporting customer's plants and factories by providing products with human-centered value

The 700 Series, whose features are partly introduced above, has already been installed in the plants of customers in Japan. In January 2016, we started selling an SIL-certified[*2] model and will expand our product lineup to meet various customer needs. Sales to large oil plants in oil-producing countries are also scheduled.

Azbil also provides application software called PLUG-IN Valstaff[*3] for online monitoring and inspection of valves and valve positioners (Fig. 5)


Figure 5. Example of PLUG-IN Valstaff system configuration

Figure 5. Example of PLUG-IN Valstaff system configuration

[*2] SIL (Safety Integrity Level) indicates a system's safety performance. It is defined in IEC 61508 (an International Electrotechnical Commission standard). There are a total of four SIL levels, from SIL1 to SIL4.

[*3] For details on PLUG-IN Valstaff and the 700 Series, please refer to the links below.
PLUG-IN Valstaff


azbil Technical Review

Development of New Smart Valve Positioners for Enhanced Safety of Plant Operations

*Handling of products and services described in “azbil techne” may differ by country or region.